top of page
Search
  • gholdreith

What I've learned in 2 weeks of wearing the same dress

1) This dress was a missing piece!

I have always known that I knit sweaters, and buy tights thinking "this will be SO cute with high waisted skirts and over dresses" - but as it happens, my wardrobe was rather lacking in this regard. I have two linen shift dresses that I made from a Grainline Studios pattern (that I love) but I generally put away for winter, and don't think of as fall/winter/spring pieces. The thing is, I love them, and clearly think I wear them more often than I do. I was expecting to run into some difficulty with outfits, or at least a time when I had to start recycling the same thing. I have yet to do that! I'm wearing sweaters I knit that normally languish on the shelf, all of my beautiful Snag tights are in regular rotation, and I am spoiled for choice. It's been really eye opening to see how many easy outfits I really do have just by plugging in this dress.


2) It's nice to have real clothes

After 10 months of mostly wearing sweat pants, or whatever was clean and on hand it feels really good to have outfits that are comfortable, and easy to wear but feel like real outfits I could wear in the world. I have worked from home since well before the pandemic and spent more time than I care to admit in sweats and whatever was on hand anyway. I thought that something like a uniform or capsule wardrobe would feel sad and limiting, but I've found the opposite to be true. It helps that this fits well, and goes with other things I am comfortable in, like my tights and sweaters.


3) I will order a smaller size in the future

While most days I have felt very comfortable in my dress, more than once I have caught my reflection, or tried to take a picture and just felt frumpy and unstylish. It's really when my eye catches on how or where the dress is oversized, and doesn't look like it fits super well. I ordered the size recommended by Wool& based on my measurements, and I did read reviews that many buyers did size down. Mostly I didn't want to deal with a return if what I ordered was too small (and the disappointment and frustration when something doesn't fit you - but that could be its own blog). Nothing that can't be fixed with a little tailoring but as I mentioned I don't have access to my sewing machine right now.


4) Clothes are not as delicate as we think they are!

I've only washed this dress twice in 15 days, and it doesn't smell or look like it hasn't been washed. IT helps that the fabric is mostly wool, a sturdy moisture wicking workhorse that airs out well and holds its shape. I have a large collection of handknits that I truly only wash once a year or if I spill on them. I spot clean as needed, and hang up for 24 ours after wearing, which is the same treatment for this dress! I could even see myself washing this dress less, were I someone who isn't genetically programmed to spill. It also helps that I am consistently wearing tights and shirt under it, so it is never next to skin. Oh and also its January in MN, so its not exactly warm, which minimizes sweat. I'll be interested to see what happens if I wear this in May or June without a tee shirt or tights.


5) New life for abandoned clothes

I already mentioned that I have bought/knit/planned my wardrobe around pieces similar to this - which I really didn't have in spades, which has already jumpstarted broader use of my wardrobe. The other way this dress is jump starting the wardrobe I have is by brining new life to abandoned clothes. My collection of fun bright tee shirts and turtle necks that either are too short, or don't match anything else, or have some inconveniently placed claw marks are all perfect under this dress. As long as the neckline and sleeves look good its a win! Sweaters, tops, and shirts that are too short with jeans, don't button over my hips, roll up annoyingly all work now. It's also seriously curbed my spending on clothes because I am so much happier with what I have.



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blogging may not be for me?

I was so consistent here and then, as it always happens, I lost interest, or time maybe? Unclear. I have since successfully completed the 100 day dress challenge! I had really hoped to share more alon

Sizing

Let's talk about the dress, sizes available, and the size I am wearing. I picked the Sierra Tank Dress in the Washed Navy color. On the site it is described as follows, "cut from our midweight French

100 Day Dress Challenge FAQ

What is it? A challenge presented by the Wool& company. Wear one of their dresses for 100 days in a row, and receive a $100 giftcard to their store. Is this sponsored or paid? No! I bought the Sierra

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page