top of page
Search
  • gholdreith

Sizing

Let's talk about the dress, sizes available, and the size I am wearing.


I picked the Sierra Tank Dress in the Washed Navy color. On the site it is described as follows, "cut from our midweight French Terry fabric, this sleeveless, A-line silhouette dress is the perfect transitional piece. complete with patch pockets and a crew neckline, you’ll want to lounge in it as much as you wear it out. cozy has never been so cute."


I picked this one because I know I love a sleeveless a line shift. I have two I sewed from linen blend fabrics from a Grainline Studios pattern that are getting worn to death. I knew I could incorporate this easily into my current wardrobe. The ability to layer was a big selling point, too. This makes is adjustable to all seasons this far north, and means its one thing that can stay in my closet year round. I also liked that this was something I could see myself wearing for brunch, or dressing it up with some jewelry and a jacket, and even to work.


PICKING A SIZE

I am pretty familiar with all of my measurements from my knitting and sewing. My bust is 48" and my hips are about 51", I stand 5'8" flat foot. . If you expand the "details" section on the page they will give you the bust/waist/hip measurements and the height for the models shown, and what size they are wearing. I got lucky in that Wool& shows the Sierra tank on a model who is very close to my measurements wearing a 2xl, which is what I ended up ordering. Based on their size chart I could definitely wear the 1xl, too. I decided to go with the larger size because again I really liked how it looked on the model who is just about my size, and I wanted plenty of room to comfortably layer under the dress.


FIT

Once it arrived and I got it out of the compostable packaging my initial reaction was wishing I'd sized down to the 1xl. The fit was gappy in the armholes, and the length was just a bit longer than I'd like. When tried it on over a turtleneck and found I liked the fit much better. Ideally I think I'd want something between the two sizes - I'm not opposed to maybe bringing in the side seams just a smidge, and hemming it. As I don't currently have sewing space or my machine out, and the fit really isn't bad at all, I am not going to do it anytime soon.

After wearing it for 10 days, I really wish I had gone down a size or two. A lot of the reviews share that these dresses are generously sized, and customers were happier a size down. Sometimes I feel a little frumpy, or older - a more snug fit through the bust, and shorter hem feels more fun and young to me. I will definitely be taking this one in once I have my machine back out and running.


SIZE INCLUSIVITY

Currently Wool& offers sizes through a 2xl, which is the equivalent of a 20-22W, or sized for those with measurements of 48.5-50.5 bust, 41-43 waist, and 51-53" hip. I would specify those are not the garment measurements. The garment is designed to fit with indented ease on that range of measurements. The dresses are designed with positive ease and there is quite a bit of stretch in the fabric for wool, from the nylon and spandex. As I said above, they have quite a bit of positive ease, and that they accommodate far more sizes than listed - depending on the fit you want.

While Wool& may go up more than many clothing companies and retailers they are by no means truly size inclusive - which would look like going up to a 5xl+, and making sure that larger sized aren't just exponentially blown up versions of smaller sizes. According to an email exchange with the company they are getting many requests for more sizes, and have it in their plans to expand size range soon.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blogging may not be for me?

I was so consistent here and then, as it always happens, I lost interest, or time maybe? Unclear. I have since successfully completed the 100 day dress challenge! I had really hoped to share more alon

What I've learned in 2 weeks of wearing the same dress

1) This dress was a missing piece! I have always known that I knit sweaters, and buy tights thinking "this will be SO cute with high waisted skirts and over dresses" - but as it happens, my wardrobe w

100 Day Dress Challenge FAQ

What is it? A challenge presented by the Wool& company. Wear one of their dresses for 100 days in a row, and receive a $100 giftcard to their store. Is this sponsored or paid? No! I bought the Sierra

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page